Analyzing Lil Wayne’s Verse on French Montana’s ‘Pop That’

We all know and love the genius that is Lil Wayne. He owned the radio in 2008, and he hasn’t let up since. He took up guitar and skateboarding. He got a few more tattoos. He brought us Nicki Minaj, Drake, and of course Tyga. The man’s unstoppable.

Admittedly, he's had his fair share of legal trouble

Admittedly, he’s had his fair share of legal trouble as well

I think it’s time, however, that we took a deep dive (to borrow a phrase from Chuck Todd) into some of his more clever work. French Montana’s ‘Pop That’ is one of my favorite rap songs of the past year or so; even Rick Ross, whom I despise, drops a nice verse on there. For those of you who haven’t heard this collaboration from Montana, Ross, Drake, and Wayne, please do yourself a favor and check it out right now:

Now, before we get into Wayne’s verse, I want to answer a few questions you may have about the video, or about these rappers, or about hip hop in general.

Q: Who is French Montana?
A: I really don’t know. As far as I can tell he is a rapper, although I don’t know what made him think that rap is his calling in life.

Q: Why does he suck so bad?
A: Again, I don’t know. There has been shitty rap for as long as there has been good rap, but I think that, to an extent, we’ve reached a new low recently. Wayne, Nicki, and Ross are some of the most popular rappers today, and all of them have released verses of questionable lyrical quality. If I really had to guess, I might posit that the popularity of Soulja Boy inspired morons all over the country to imagine themselves as the next hip hop giant.
Even Kanye West, the darling of rap critics, has been pretty much coasting since My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. His current writing process seems to involve a) finding out how slowly he has to rap so that his verse only has four rhymes, and b) finding four one-syllable words that rhyme. Come on, man.

Q: What is ‘molly’?
A: Good question. I myself wasn’t sure what molly was until recently. Urban Dictionary explains that molly is simply what used to be known as ecstasy. Why the name changed, I will never know.
It should be noted that Rick Ross recently got in trouble for rapping about date raping a girl by putting molly in her drink. So… there are some bad associations with that drug, to say the least.

Q: Did Rick Ross eat all of the Taco Bell?
A: Yes. He looked in his fridge; shit looked scarce. Something inside him must’ve been screaming “FAST FOOD NOW,” and I do hope it wasn’t one of the orphan children he’d eaten the day before.

Q: Drake’s still got it, eh?
A: Yes, Drake is one of the few popular rappers that doesn’t need to flaunt his stupidity all over the place just to get attention.

Q: So- popping that is gross, right?
A: Well, depending on what you’re into. Your reaction to this Ludacris video should help you decide.

Ok, that should be about everything. Let’s get to it. Here’s Wayne’s verse:

Biiiitch, Stop talkin’ that shit
And suck a nigga dick for some Trukfit
Okay I fuck a bitch and I’m gone
That’s gangsta Al Capone
I make that pussy spit like bone
Talkin’ bout Bone, bone, bone, bone
I’m fucking wit’ French, excuse my French
I lose my mind before I lose my bitch
Money ain’t a thing but a chicken wing
Bitch I ball like two eyelids
YMCM-Beat that pussy up
Stop playin’, I make her ass scream and holla, like rock bands
I’mma beast, I’m off the leash
I am rich like a bitch
On my Proactiv shit
Pop that pussy like a zit
I go by the name Lil Tunechi
Your girl is a groupie
And nigga, you’s a square
And I would twist you like a Rubix
Motherfucker I’m on my skateboard
Watch me do a trick, ho
I’m 5′ 5” but I could 6-9
Then beat that pussy like Klitschko
It’s French Montana, fuck Joe
It’s Weezy F., fuck hos
It’s Truk the world
It’s Truk yo girl
It’s Trukfit by the truck load, biaaaatch

Let’s do this line by line.

Biiiitch, Stop talkin’ that shit
Obviously a girl was acting as if she didn’t want to perform oral sex on Wayne…

And suck a nigga dick for some Trukfit
…but she’s really a ho, so she’s going to do it- as long as she gets to go home with some Trukfit gear, which Lil Wayne can presumably get for free. (Trukfit is Wayne’s clothing line. Remember this, as it will come into play later as well.)

Okay I fuck a bitch and I’m gone
Wayne doesn’t stay for morning sex, or a goodbye kiss. I can’t blame him, given that these girls are basically prostituting themselves for that sweet, sweet Trukfit.

That’s gangsta Al Capone
Lil Wayne is gangsta. You can see that here and here. Those teardrops aren’t just for show.
For those of you who don’t know, Al Capone was a mobster from the prohibition era, famously played by Robert DeNiro in The Untouchables. I wrote a paper on him in 7th grade, but Lil Wayne must know something about Capone that I don’t, because I don’t remember anything about him being a one night stand type of guy.

I make that pussy spit like bone
Jesus. Well I assume this refers to female ejaculation. Bone might refer to boning? As in, when he bones a girl, that’s when it happens.
Also a reference to Bone Thugs.

Talkin’ bout Bone, bone, bone, bone
Gross. And also I think you can do better, Wayne.

I’m fucking wit’ French, excuse my French
Ah, now we’re getting into that famous Weezy wordplay. French Montana is the shitty rapper whose song this verse concludes, and obviously ‘excuse my French’ is a colloquial way of apologizing for cursing. In this case, the word ‘fucking,’ but perhaps Wayne is apologizing for the profanity throughout his verse. Or throughout the song, or the whole music industry. Who knows.

I lose my mind before I lose my bitch
The bone bone bone boning is so good that there’s no way she won’t come back for more.

Money ain’t a thing but a chicken wing
What?

Bitch I ball like two eyelids
I ball. Eyeball. Two eyelids.

YMCM-Beat that pussy up
Wayne’s label is Young Money Cash Money, with an added B for Bitch. Wayne is using the company’s name as a verb; he will bring this tactic around again at the end of his verse.

Stop playin’, I make her ass scream and holla, like rock bands
Rock bands are guaranteed to make girls, especially groupies, scream and holler. As is Lil Wayne.

I’mma beast, I’m off the leash
Earlier, he had hinted that he was close to losing his mind. This is an open admission.

I am rich like a bitch
He’s rich as anything. His rap skills, as well as business skills, have earned him his wealth.

On my Proactiv shit
Pop that pussy like a zit
Again, gross. But also kind of clever. Proactiv is a commonly used product to get rid of acne. He’s pro-active about fucking, and, if you read between the lines, he’s pro-active in his business career as well. It works on several levels. It’s still gross though.

I go by the name Lil Tunechi
I still don’t know why.

Your girl is a groupie
Yes, but I think yours are as well, Wayne. See earlier in this verse.

And nigga, you’s a square
And I would twist you like a Rubix
Awesome. A Rubix Cube is, technically, a cube, but Lil Wayne knows this, and is basically saying he will knock you into the next dimension. I also think he means to imply that he’s going to fuck your girl. Who is a groupie.

Motherfucker I’m on my skateboard
Watch me do a trick, ho
Seemingly stupid. But as we look further, we recall that trick is another word for ho, or prostitute. So doing a trick is slang for having sex with a groupie. Possibly for some Trukfit.

I’m 5′ 5” but I could 6-9
I didn’t know he was that short. But I guess it’s cool. Not to get too gross, but for that particular act, being closer in height to a woman might be beneficial. Please don’t make me spell it out for you.

Then beat that pussy like Klitschko
I don’t think I have to say this, but ‘beating up’ that part of the body doesn’t really imply violence. It’s more, uh, metaphorical.

It’s French Montana, fuck Joe
Joe Montana is a football player who was active maybe thirty years ago. He played for the Niners and was incredibly popular; Wayne is saying that Joe Montana is wack compared to French Montana.
I think I thought about this one too long, though, because my mind was just blown. The latter half of French Montana’s name is presumably taken from the movie Scarface, the main character of which is named Tony Montana. Incidentally, I don’t believe the character is called Scarface even once in the film, though I may be misremembering; he is certainly referred to by his name the vast majority of the time. The title of De Palma’s film is actually taken from a 1930’s movie of the same name based on Al Capone, who was also known as Scarface.
Again, if I recall correctly, Tony Montana was named after Joe Montana, the aforementioned football player who was popular when Scarface was made. To what does this add up? Joe Montana is French Montana’s namesake-grandfather, and he probably didn’t even know it. On top of which, both French and Wayne have compared themselves to Al Capone, though Wayne skips all the movie/NFL superstar bullshit and just drops his name. In any case, mind blown.

It’s Weezy F., fuck hos
Wayne often refers to himself as Weezy F. Baby, and the F. stands for just about anything. Including Weezy Fucking Baby. You’re picturing this right now. Here the F. seems to stand for ‘Fuck hos.’

It’s Truk the world
Remember that Trukfit is Wayne’s label? Excellent! Here he’s subbing it in for the word ‘fuck.’

It’s Truk yo girl
And here. He’s also reminding us of his earlier promise concerning your groupies. He’s going to fuck them, and he’s probably going to send them home with some Trukfit.

It’s Trukfit by the truck load, biaaaatch
Like he said, Trukfit is taking over the world. It’s shipping by the truckload. And notice he goes out the same way he came in. Excellent.

Summary

There’s basically three things Lil Wayne talks about here; groupies, Trukfit, and how much you suck compared to him and French Montana. He weaves these themes in and out, and makes it clear that his sexual prowess, rap prowess, and business prowess are all related. He uses a couple themes here, including the gangster/Scarface motif, which in my opinion has been kind of overdone in rap. In addition to French Montana, there’s a couple other rappers who’ve taken their name from the 1983 classic, including Scarface (duh) and Tony Yayo.

That’s why I like the other identity Wayne assumes, that of the ‘punk skater/rocker.’ See, to Lil Wayne, being a modern day Al Capone is cool and all, but we can’t just shut our eyes to the fact that these skate punks are getting it done too. I mean, there’s a reason he took up guitar and skateboarding; he knows what makes girls ‘scream and holler,’ so to speak.

Conclusion

I wrote this article fully expecting to trash Lil Wayne’s verse. I mean sure, to the casual listener it will sound lazy, and it will reinforce the notion that Wayne’s just been coasting since he became a household name. That’s what I thought at first too. Like, why you taking up guitar and skateboarding? I thought the block was hot? But if you look closer, I think you gotta give him some credit. There’s some subtlety here that I don’t think many will pick up on, especially on such a shallow sounding song. I mean, the subject matter is still kinda shallow, but there’s more here than meets the eye. Let’s recognize that fact.

Just keep him away from your girl

Just keep him away from your girl

Stay tuned next week for an analysis of Juicy J’s ‘Bands a Make Her Dance!’

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

